Being True to Yourself?

Being loved and accepted for who I am, I’d say is one of the best thing that people can give me. Especially because I feel that I’m pretty weird and different to most people 😅. Not only from physical appearance, but also from my perspective of life and interest.

For many years, I felt like I need to put “mask” on so that I can fit in various social situations. But to keep role playing, not only it’s tiring, it’s also soul sucking. I forgot who I really am because I put on so many “identities” that others imposed to me.

Until one point, I can no longer tolerate this situation.

It was scary at first because I was so afraid what people would think, would people befriended me, would I be alone and lonely…

And to my suprise… It turned out much better than I expected.

Yes, some people who are not align with my true self slowly distancing. BUT, I attract the kind of people that I wished I knew earlier: people who’d accept and love me for the way I am.

What I learnt from this is that the main key to have these kind of people in my life is I need to be that person first for myself.
I need to be able to accept and love myself for who I really am. That the only approval that I need is my own, not other’s. And also, whether I’m also able to accept and compassionate with others for who they truly are.

Tinggalkan komentar